Skip to content

Subscribe to receive information about new titles

Circa wins at the Architectural Book of the Year Awards 2023

28 June 2023

Circa wins at the Architectural Book of the Year Awards 2023

The inaugural Architecture Book of the Year Awards have been announced. The awards were launched this year by the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects, the Temple Bar Trust, and the World Architecture Festival. Books published in 2020, 2021 and 2022 were eligible. There were seven category winners and three special prizes. Circa had the distinction of winning two awards: for Evans + Shalev (Practice Monograph: Highly Commended) and Peter Cook – Speculations (Special Prize Winner)

Jury citation for Evans + Shalev: This carefully assembled and beautifully designed survey of built and unbuilt works by Evans + Shalev has a rigorous order and elegance that match its subject. With an emphasis on visual information – particularly drawings – it stood out for the judicious selection of material and consistency of presentation.

Jury citation for Speculations – Peter Cook: Beautifully produced, this visual treat is a reminder of the power of architectural drawing and painting to inform the process of design, and to investigate conditions and contexts beyond conventional methods of analysis.